Skip to main content
hpa logo
Topics A-Z:
Search the site:

Blood Borne Viruses Unit (BBVU)

Virus Reference Department
Microbiology Services Colindale

61 Colindale Avenue
London NW9 5EQ

DX 6530006
 

Tel: 020 8327 6234 / 6554 / 6555
Fax: 020 8200 1569

Head of Unit:
Professor Richard Tedder
Tel: 020 8327 6109 / 6553
Email: richard.tedder@phe.gov.uk

 

Richard Tedder has a joint appointment with PHE, the NHS Blood and Transplant Service (NHSBT) and UCL. The Blood Borne Virus Unit is engaged in research and development on Hepatitis Viruses and works closely with the Seromolecular Services Unit (SSU) and the NHSBT.

Some of the work of the PHE Blood Borne Virus Unit is around improving blood safety. This is funded by NHSBT and members of the unit work closely with colleagues in the NHSBT/PHE Epidemiology Unit.

Clinical scientists:

Siew Lin Ngui (siewlin.ngui@phe.gov.uk) 020 8327 6555
Samreen Ijaz (samreen.ijaz@phe.gov.uk) 020 8327 6554
Simon Carne (simon.carne@phe.gov.uk) 020 8327 6971

Biomedical scientists:

Becky Haywood (becky.haywood@phe.gov.uk) 020 8327 6097

Healthcare scientists:

Dr John Poh (john.poh@phe.gov.uk) 020 8327 6097
Dr Shoshanna May  (shoshanna.may@phe.gov.uk) 020 8327 6234
Dr Arinder Kohli (arinder.kohli@phe.gov.uk) 020 8327 6405
 

NHSBT secondments:

Consultant Medical Virologist: Dr Ines Ushiro-Lumb (ines.ushiro-lumb@phe.gov.uk)
Clinical Scientist: Kate Tettmar (kate.tettmar@phe.gov.uk) 020 8327 6405
Biomedical Scientist: Steve Dicks (steve.dicks@phe.gov.uk) 0208 327 6097
Healthcare Scientist: Poorvi Patel ( poorvi.patel@phe.gov.uk) 020 8327 6405
Healthcare Scientist: Dr Alessandra Berto (alessandra.berton@phe.gov.uk) 0208 327 6097

PhD students:

Dr Ourania Kakisi (ourania.kakisi@phe.gov.uk) 020 8327 6097

Reference services available:

  • Hepatitis A (HAV) RNA detection and phylogenetic
  • Hepatitis B (HBV) sequencing and phylogenetics
  • HBV antiviral resistance testing by sequencing
  • Screening for HBV HBsAg mutation by sequencing
  • Screening for HBV pre-core & BCP mutation by sequencing
  • Hepatitis C (HCV) sequencing and phylogenetics
  • Real time hepatitis D (HDV) RNA detection
  • Real time hepatitis E (HEV) RNA detection 
  • HEV RNA detection and phylOgenetics from plasma
  • Outbreak/transmission investigation for HAV, HBV, HCV and HEV

S10 HBV sequencing request form (PDF, 449 KB)

For all other hepatitis virus investigations please contact:
Mr Nigel Wallis
Tel: 020 8327 6971
SSU main office: 020 8327 7262

S1 Hepatitis viruses investigation form (PDF, 472 KB).

Further details of samples required - please contact Seromolecular Services Unit (SSU)

Our diagnostic development activities include:

  • Development of NGS methods for HBV and HEV whole genome sequencing
  • Optimisation of non-amplification based methods for NGS
  • Development of triple Ag assay on Luminex platform
  • Development of in-house HTLV 1 and 2 taqman assay

Our surveillance activities include:

Our research activities include:

  • Generation of HEV genotype 1 and 3 VLP using the baculovirus expression system
  • Understanding the risk of HEV to blood safety
  • Establishment of 2D and 3D tissue culture models for HEV infection studies
  • In silico modelling of HEV ORF2 protein
  • Investigating the potential of murine gamma retroviruses to cross species barriers into human cells in culture
  • Investigations into concomitant HEV infections within households
     

Recent publications

For further details of recent publications of members of the Blood Borne Virus Unit

Useful links

Hepseq  www.hepseqresearch.org
NICE  www.nice.org.uk
NHSBT www.nhsbt.nhs.uk
BASL www.basl.org.uk
SoGAT www.nibsc.ac.uk/partners/SoGAT/index.html