Skip to main content
hpa logo
Topics A-Z:
Search the site:
Home Topics Infectious Diseases Infections A-Z Healthcare Associated Infections (HCAI) Latest results for MRSA, MSSA, E. coli, CDI and GRE

Latest results for MRSA, MSSA, E. coli, CDI and GRE


Many hospitals in the country have participated in voluntary surveillance of key infections for many years. As part of the increased focus on control of Healthcare associated infections, surveillance of some infections was made mandatory. This started off in the NHS with Staphylococcus aureus including meticillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) bacteraemia in April 2001 and was later extended to glycopeptide resistant enterococcal (GRE) bacteraemia in October 2003, Clostridium difficile infection (CDI) in January 2004, meticillin-sensitive S. aureus (MSSA) bacteraemia in January 2011 and Escherichia coli (E. coli) bacteraemia in June 2011.

 MRSA and MSSA bacteraemia and  C. difficile infection mandatory data (Official Statistics) 

MRSA bacteraemia: NHS Results from April 2006 onwards.

MSSA bacteraemia: NHS Results from January 2011 onwards.

Archive data for earlier time periods (from the start of mandatory reporting for each organism) are available separately on the same page.

E. coli bacteraemina mandatory data

Other Data Outputs

Independent Sector Reporting

Additional Information

For information regarding the Department of Health MRSA Objective please refer to the MRSA bacteraemia Objective web pages.
For the out comes for Public Health Engalnd and the Department of Health meeting to improve the surveillance system and epidemiological outputs on MRSA bacteraemia and C. difficile please refer to the HCAI Mandatory Surveillance Stakeholders Meeting page.
The Office for National Statistics (ONS) have implemented a new naming and coding policy for geographical entities, the main implication being that all such entities, including CCG's, now have a 9-character ONS organisation code. Details of organisational codes can be found via the ONS website.